The Magazine for Alumni and Friends of the UB School of Management

A Message from the School of Management Alumni Association President | Alumni Association Board
Join the School of Management Alumni Association

Alumni News...Your link to the School of Management Alumni Association

Connect. Network. Achieve.

Exciting changes

Alumni and external relations staff (from left): Lucy Kierejewski, Hailley MacDonald, Robin Penberthy, Thomas McArthur, Cynthia Shore and Amy Tomaszewski. (Photo: Tom Wolf)

After bidding a fond farewell to John Shellum who retired last August, the Alumni Relations Office joined forces with the school's External Relations unit to leverage resources and create synergies in these critical areas.

Cynthia Shore has added alumni relations to her portfolio of activities as senior assistant dean for external relations and she now serves as executive director of the School of Management Alumni Association (SOMAA) as well.

Assisting Shore in the restructured department is Thomas McArthur, who joined the staff in November as associate director of alumni and external relations. McArthur came to UB from the University of Rochester where he served as assistant director of alumni relations, and worked with alumni in the metro New York City area and California.

Shore plans to use the momentum the SOMAA has gained in recent years to expand alumni services. "We have a tremendous base of alumni in Western New York who take advantage of the many programs and opportunities we have to offer," says Shore. "Our goal moving forward will be to engage the extensive alumni population throughout the rest of the country and internationally. Tom's experience working with alumni outside the area combined with the dedication and expertise of our current staff will be invaluable in this endeavor."

The entire team welcomes your ideas and suggestions. You can contact them by e-mail at

From left: Irish-Jones, Koelmel, Yalamanchili, Mazurkiewicz and Fernandes. (Photo: Tom Wolf)

Awards Banquet

Donna M. Fernandes, president and CEO of the Buffalo Zoo, and John R. Koelmel, president and CEO of First Niagara Financial Group Inc., were named the 2010 Buffalo-Niagara Executives of the Year by the University at Buffalo School of Management. The recipients were honored at the 61st Annual School of Management Alumni Association Awards Banquet on Nov. 3 at the Millennium Airport Hotel. In addition, alumni awards were presented to Laurie Irish-Jones, CEO of Irish Welding Supply, Irish Propane Corporation and Irish Carbonic Corporation, for entrepreneurship; Gerard Mazurkiewicz, tax partner, Dopkins & Company, for community service; and Sujata Yalamanchili, partner, Hodgson Russ Attorneys, for service to the school.

Left photo: Timothy Lafferty '86 and Ore Ajakiye, MBA '11. Center photo: Thomas Ulbrich, EMBA '06, CEL '03, Katie Clark, CEL '10, Paul Buckley, CEL '04/'08, and Jennifer Kuhn, CEL '10. Right photo: Daniel Penberthy, EMBA '00, Thomas Cogan, MBA '99, Dean Arjang Assad and Howard Epstein '82, MBA '89. (Photos: Tom Wolf)